The French Period

From 1598 to 1710, the Dutch took possession of Mauritius, named it in the honour of "Prince Maurice de Nassau" and introduced deer and sugar cane to Mauritius.
In 1715, the island fell under French rule and was given the name of “Ile de France”. In 1735, thanks to the arrival of Governor Mahé de Labourdonnais, the island enjoyed considerable expansion which was beneficial to the sugar industry. During that period 60 to 80 factories were in operation.

French version